Dark Chocolate and Love

It’s almost Valentine’s Day. Do you have any special plans? Just sitting at home in your sweats? That sounds pretty good to me. We are waiting for this storm to pass and see what it will be like tomorrow. Hopefully it will clear after sunrise. We need to buy groceries. We will most likely hang out at the house in our sweats before Hubby goes to work. I’m planning on cooking him a good dinner though. We’ve been together for ten years. Valentine’s is really just another day to us. We make sure we express our love every day. We don’t want the other one to forget or something. 

 Image

 

This was taken Tuesday around 5pm. 

Image

And this was Wednesday about 11:30 am. Not much to some people but we are not accustomed to snow around here. It mostly melted away today in the sun but it has started snowing again since dark. Blah. I don’t like snow much. It’s pretty and everything, but I would rather it be sunny and about 70 degrees. 

But until then, we will manage through with our milk and bread. I don’t know why people hoard milk and bread around here. I would rather have canned goods and my camp stove. But whatever floats your boat. 

On to the chocolate. I must confess. I am not a chocolate lover. I never have been. Given the choice between chocolate ice cream and vanilla, nine times out of ten I will pick vanilla. But I found a recipe for white chocolate pudding frosting and decided to pair it with a dark chocolate cupcake. I was über excited about the combination (and wanted to get them baked in case the power went out).

Maybe I did something wrong or didn’t mix something right, but the frosting did not work for me. It was a texture issue. The flavor was good. And the cake was good in my opinion. Hubby said it was too soft for his liking. The frosting came out lumpy and clogged the piping tip when I tried to frost the cupcakes. Not pleasant. I think I will have to do some work or find a different white chocolate frosting for my cupcakes. 

I used this dark chocolate cupcake recipe from Sally’s Baking Addiction. And over at Where Flours Bloom via Pinterest I found this white chocolate pudding buttercream frosting. I used this particular recipe because it didn’t require cream cheese or whipped cream (I had neither of those). Maybe with a little tweaking I will get it right. 

Image

Notice I only have one picture of these cupcakes. Yeah, that frosting didn’t work out to be very pretty. 

 

3 thoughts on “Dark Chocolate and Love

  1. Sorry 😦 Sounds and looks like something really went wrong on your frosting. I hope you try it again, because the texture of yours looks nothing like it should. Honestly, mine has turned out perfect every time.

  2. Pingback: Revisiting my failure… and a few successes | Kimmie's Sweet Treats

Leave a comment