Spring has Sprung!

Well, Spring has started to spring anyway. It is finally starting to warm up and be nice outside. I am definitely a summer baby and enjoy the warmer months. I am naturally on the cold side anyway. When I’m in the house, I am usually found in my chair with my throw blanket over me. Even in the summer. And the hubby has stated my feet are comparable to ice cubes. So I am definitely ready to see this colder weather move on.

We got some pretty nice strawberries on our last shopping trip. I let the girls eat some and stashed some chopped up and stirred with some sugar. I didn’t know exactly what I was going to use them for but I knew it wasn’t going to be a fruit salad. I found a few recipes for cakes and cupcakes that called for fresh strawberries and narrowed it down to this one from The Baked Equation. It sounded and looked delicious. I have never made a Swiss Meringue Buttercream before so I was excited to try something new.

IMG_2600

IMG_2601

IMG_2602

 

Doesn’t that look delicious? Well it is! I could eat it by the spoonful. I think I had a little bit too much liquid from my strawberries in the cake and maybe a bit too much sugar (I didn’t use the organic sugar that the original poster used). But they were still awesomely delicious!

One thought on “Spring has Sprung!

Leave a Reply

