Camping Trip!

Well, it’s been quite busy around here for the last two weeks or so. We had our first family camping trip the week of Memorial Day. Of course, it’s not the first time we’ve been “camping.” When our first daughter was about 4 months, my mom and dad let me use their camper and pulled it up to the gated campsite up at Carters Lake. But to me, that wasn’t real camping. There was running water, electricity, and a working toilet. This time, we did it right. We were in a tent. There was no electricity and the only running water was the creek.

We got there Monday afternoon and got the tent set up and everything ready to go. Monday night we all slept pretty peacefully all night. Tuesday night it rained. It rained a lot. And guess what. We learned something very important. Our tent leaks. So we all sat up in the middle of the tent with the sleeping bags and everything pulled tightly into the center of the tent trying to keep everything dry. Michael wasn’t a happy camper. I just laughed and told him it would be a funny story when we looked back on it. And it is. And we’ll always take two tarps from now on. One for over the table and one for over the tent.

Notice the tarp has been moved?

Maddie and Daddy cut wood. The tree was already down so we just chopped it up for firewood.

Sophie and I watched.

I think the fire is my favorite part. I’m a little bit of a pyro. I admit it. That’s the first step, right?

We found the overlook at the top of the mountain.

My Sophie gave me love. She never gives kisses. She turns away and giggles. She also started saying “momma” during our trip.

We all went down the natural “waterslide”.

Overall, we had a great vacation. And we’ve all got camping fever now and are beyond ready to go back. But alas, it will have to wait. At least for a while.

I started school the Monday we got back. I’m going online and working on my bachelors. It’s been a week so far and I’ve already started feeling the stress of going to school full-time, working full-time and having a family. Trying to find time for all that is impossible really hard. And I’m still trying to make time to bake all my goodies. I need all the practice I can get. After all, I’m hoping to open my own store one day. I really want to start practicing stacking and carving cakes. Can you say “overachiever”? Yeah, sleep is going to be an endangered species around here for a while.

2 thoughts on “Camping Trip!

  1. Well I’m very proud that you’re chasing your dreams. All you hear is me talking about it, but no action. One day!!

Leave a Reply

