Cookout and cupcakes…and a cat

So we had a cookout at work Saturday. I was volunteered told to bring cupcakes. Ok. That’s fine with me. Only I had been on vacation for a week and had nothing in the house. So I searched around and tried to figure out what I was going to make. I’m a big fan of My Baking Addiction and look at a lot of the cupcakes recipes. So I finally decided I wanted to make the Peanut Butter Cup Cupcakes. I love peanut butter and chocolate. I usually don’t use cake mixes. There’s nothing really wrong with them, I just prefer to make the mix myself. Well, I didn’t have time for all of that Friday night so boxed mix it was. The recipe calls for something like 18.25 oz cake mix. Apparently, companies have started making the mixes smaller. The largest I could find was 16 ounces. I did find these nifty 9 oz cupcake mix. Each box makes 12 cupcakes so 2 boxes gave me 18 oz of cake mix and worked out for 24 cupcakes. The recipe calls for espresso (all I could find was instant coffee) and I am by no means a coffee fan. But coffee has the neat way of making chocolate taste more chocolate-ty. Don’t worry. You can’t taste the coffee. And they have a mini Reese’s hidden in the center.

It’s a pretty simple recipe but it yummy. It’s better than yummy. I heard they were a hit at work. I left early. I was supposed to go to a wedding but hubby has a bad tooth and it pretty much crippled him for the biggest part of the day. I am beyond sad that I missed it. You freeze the peanut butter cup before you bake the cupcakes. There’s a little well in the center from the peanut butter cup. It’s supposed to be there. You’ll cover it up with the frosting. The frosting is amazing. I didn’t use heavy cream so I used milk. It worked out just fine.

I love those wrappers. I found them at Wal-Mart near the aluminum foil. They’re foil lined wrappers so they don’t fade when you bake in them. And then you get to eat them. And you find the hidden teasure. Mmm. They were still warm and a little gooey. Mmm. I love them. I think I’m going to try a few more cupcakes with hidden goodies. I’ve got some Snickers in the kitchen that are waiting to be used.

On another non-baking related topic, we got a cat. I found a lady whose neighbor had died and left a cat and her kittens with no where to go. So I took the cat and so far she has fit right in. Her name is Charlotte. I’m not sure how old she is. Anyone know how to tell how old a cat is? She’s small. She’s also a little underweight. She tries to eat everything we have. But she’s great with the kids. Sophie smacks her and drags her and we’re trying to teach her to be gentle. Maddie acts scared of her. I don’t know why. Charlotte has never scratched anyone on purpose. She got me once when I first brought her home. She didn’t want to go in the pet carrier. And she uses the litter box. So all in all, everything is working out so far.

Leave a Reply

