Doughtnuts……Mmmmm….

Doughnuts are wonderful. Especially hot, fresh doughnuts. I wanted to make some a few weeks ago so I found a recipe for Baked Doughnuts on Brown Eyed Baker. Apparently, my yeast was dead. It was a tragic failure. Hard, dense little discs. So I got some new yeast and tried again last night. Mmmm. Not a failure.

I love this part. The smell of yeast blooming is one of my favorites.

I have to admit, I love anything with yeast. That smell. I’ll bake bread every day just to smell the yeast. I need a candle that smells like this.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 After it’s all mixed, you have to knead it by hand until it’s smooth. This one was smoother until I picked it up and transferred it to the bowl.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Then the dough has to rest for an hour. You know, cause it’s had such a rough life being pushed and pulled and rolled.

 

 

 

 

 

 

  Apparently you do grow in your sleep.

 

 

 

 

 

  Then you flatten it and roll it out to cut out the doughnuts.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Use a doughnut cutter or something else round. I don’t have a doughnut cutter. I used a large circle cookie cutter.

 

 

 

 

 

 

  Here are my options for cutting out the center hole. The coupler is the right size, but it has those little cutouts that leave the hole attached. The piping tip is my preference, simply because the flower wasn’t large enough.

 

 

 

 

 

 All punched out and ready to rise again for about 20 minutes while the oven preheats.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 These are all baked. This pan was on the bottom rack which resulted in the tops being not so brown but the bottoms were really brown.

(The liquid looking stuff on the pan is the glaze. I forgot to take pictures before I poured it on. Sorry, I got excited.)

 

 

 

 

 

  This pan was on the top rack and the tops are nice and brown and the bottom has hardly any color. These were softer all over than the other pan.

 

 

 

 

 

 

  This is a simple glaze of powdered sugar, milk, and a little vanilla which I poured over the hot doughnuts.

 

 

 

 

 

 

  And here is the final product all ready to be eaten!!

I have to admit, my husband was nervous when I said I was trying to doughnuts again. I don’t blame him. The last batch wasn’t edible, but this batch turned out pretty good. Hubby prefers the glaze to the cinnamon sugar combination that is with the original recipe. I’m not partial. Either one works for me. The glaze is sweeter than the cinnamon sugar and you get a little sticky handling the glaze. But that’s the fun part!

2 thoughts on “Doughtnuts……Mmmmm….

Leave a Reply

